This is the "Family Law Materials" page of the "Family Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Family Law   Tags: 2l/3l resources, topical research  

A guide designed for MU Law students to introduce some of the Law Library resources on family law.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2014 URL: http://missouri.v1.libguides.com/familylaw Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Family Law Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Subject Explanation

After surveying the variety of family arrangements in contemporary America and central issues concerning the practice of domestic relations law, the MU Law course on Family Law covers marriage; dissolution; distribution of marital property; alimony; child custody, visitation and support; post-dissolution disputes over custody and child-rearing; non-marital families and non-marital children; private agreements in family law; and alternative dispute resolution in family law. The course treats the rapid evolution of constitutional and statutory doctrine, the value of collaboration with other professions in client representation, and ethical and policy issues.

CALI tutorials

Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) has over 850 lessons in its library that can be used as preparation for class or as review for an exam.  The link below provides access to 27 topics relevant to Family Law. 

  • Family Law Lessons
    Members of the MU Law Library community who have not registered for CALI yet, can obtain the requisite CALI Authorization Code by contacting the Reference Desk.
 

Exam Bank

MU Law School has no prior Family Law exams available online. However, there are practice exams available in the reserve room for use.  Please stop by the Reserve Room to determine if any are available.  Below are links to pages that will connect you to exam banks at other law schools.

Findlaw (Harvard University)

Widener Law Exams

University of Iowa College of Law

Please remember that these exams are not written by an MU Law School professor, who may teach Family Law differently.

 

  Where are these books located?

MU Law RESERVE materials are located on the 1st floor plaza level in the room behind the circulation desk.

MU Law DISPUTE RESOLUTION materials are located on the 2nd floor of the law library.

MU Law REFERENCE materials are located on the 1st floor plaza level of the law library.

MU Law refers to treatises located on the 3rd floor of the law library.

  Web Links

 

Study Aids

DISCLAIMER:  Please remember that supplemental materials are meant to enhance, not replace, the assigned classroom material. If you have a question whether a particular supplement may be useful as a classroom or exam prep aid then ask your professor for guidance.  And, as always, you can ask a librarian for assistance.

Cover Art
Children and The Law in a Nutshell - Sarah H. Ramsey, Douglas E. Abrams
Call Number: MU Law RESERVE KF479.Z9 R35 2011
ISBN: 0314262903
The status, rights and obligations of children; Defining the child-parent relationship;Child abuse and neglect; Foster care; Criminal abuse and neglect; Adoption; Medical decision-making; Financial responsibility and control; Regulation of children's conduct; and Delinquency

Cover Art
Examples & Explanations Family Law, 3rd Edition - Robert E. Oliphant, and Eugeen Verhellen
Call Number: MU Law RESERVE KF505.Z9 O43 2010
ISBN: 9780735588288
Clear organization and in-depth treatment of discrete topics makes it easy to understand the nuances of family law. It includes central topics such as alternative dispute resolution, domestic violence, alternative reproduction, premarital agreements, and professional responsibility

Cover Art
Family Law in a Nutshell - by Harry D. Krause, David D. Meyer
Call Number: MU Law RESERVE KF505.Z9 K7 2007
Provides a comprehensive survey of the traditional landscape of family law as well as important new legislation and case law relating to domestic partnerships, same-sex marriage, parentage, adoption, child custody, and support.

Understanding Family Law - John DeWitt Gregory
Call Number: MU Law RESERVE KF505 .G734 2005
Covers both traditional and nontraditional families, nonmarital and postmarital contracts, annulment, paternity and legitimacy, procreation rights, contraception, abortion, sterilization, artificially assisted conception, adoption and termination of parental rights. Understanding Family Law also explains ethical issues for the lawyer, alternative dispute resolution, equitable distribution, community property, and child custody and visitation.

 

  Select MU Law Library Print Materials

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Divorce Practice - Larry Rice
Call Number: MU Law KF533.5 .R53 2012
ISBN: 1614385920
Publication Date: 2013-12-07

Cover Art
The Divorce Trial Manual - Lynne Z. Gold-Bikin, Stephen Kolodny
Call Number: MU Law KF535 .G65 2003
ISBN: 1590312376
Initial client interview; Organization for trial; Discovery; Theory of the case; Motions; The closing argument; The opening statement; Direct examination; Cross-examination; Choice and preparation of lay witnesses; Experts and their reports; Evidence; Development of and introduction of exhibits

Cover Art
Letters for Divorce Lawyers: Essential Communications for Clients, Opposing Counsel, and Others - Martha J. Church
Call Number: MU Law KF533.5 .C48 2006
ISBN: 1590316576
Initial client contact; Declination letters; Retention letters and employment contracts; Billing letters; Withdrawal; Pleadings transmittal letters; Financial affidavit; Written discovery; Depositions; Scheduling various pretrial matters; Temporary matters; Mediation; Trial; Settlements; Closing matters; Prenuptial agreements

Cover Art
Divorce and Family Mediation: Models, Techniques, and ApplicationsDivorce and Family Mediation: Models, Techniques, and Applications - Jay Folberg, Ann L. Milne, Peter Salem
Call Number: MU Law DISPUTE RESOLUTION KF535 .D558 2004
ISBN: 1593850026
Introduction to family and divorce mediation; Models of practice; Mediation techniques and interventions; Special applications and considerations; Mediation in the court context; Developing the profession

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage a Family Law Practice - Mark A. Chinn
Call Number: MU Law KF300 .C455 2006
ISBN: 1590316959
Mission and goals; Start-up; Systems; Marketing; Intake of the new client; Fees and billing; Civility; Dealing with clients, pt. 1.n - Staff, Service; Dealing with clients, pt. 2.- Trial preparation and presentation, Getting to court; Case management; Time management; Financial management; Getting better; and Taking care of yourself.

Cover Art
American Bar Association Guide to Marriage, Divorce & Families
Call Number: MU Law KF505 .A87 2006
ISBN: 037572138X
Guide to marriage, divorce & families


Associate Law Librarian for Patron Services

Profile Image
Cindy Shearrer
Contact Info
122A Hulston Hall
School of Law Library
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO 65211
573-882-1125
Send Email

  Hat Tip, Thanks, and Kudos!

Many thanks to law student Branden Gregory, original author of this guide.

 

BNA Family Law Reporter

Access to BNA Family Law Reporter is limited to MU Law Students only. 

  Westlaw

  • Missouri Practice Series
    The Family Law section of the Missouri Practice Series provides information on subjects covering the Attorney-Client Relationship; the Marriage Contract; Property Issues; Issues Involving Children; Crime and Delinquency; and Family Law Litigation.
  • Westlaw Topical Highlights on Family Law
    Westlaw Topical Highlights provides summaries of important points of law from decisions on family-related topics.
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Family Law
    Treatise discussing legal aspects of marriage, divorce, adoption, custody, parentage, surrogacy, visitation, assisted reproduction, and other family law topics from the perspective of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people.

  Lexis

  • Matthew Bender Treatise, Family Law & Practice
    Family Law & Practice provides guidance for every stage of a family law proceeding from initial client contact through modification and enforcement.
  • Mo Bar CLE on Family Law
    Deals with the legal problems of all aspects of family law, including child support and custody; antenuptial, post-nuptial, and separation agreements; parenting plans; alternative dispute resolution and collaborative law; dissolutions; tort and criminal liability; property and taxation; parentage and reproduction; and enforcement of judgments and orders.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip